Winter Break and Starting the New Semester

Well, my first semester is over, and I’ve mostly survived my first break back home for long periods of time. Things are pretty different, as you’d imagine. I had grown accustomed to having free reign over my surroundings and not having adults questioning me. I’m not used to having to ask my dad if I can go somewhere, and for the most part he’s been pretty good about not asking me those types of questions.

I’ve been doing lots of work on my old room – since I’m not living there full time anymore, I’ve begun to rifle through my life’s worth of “stuff” that I’ve accumulated into the trash, transport to Goodwill, or a box (destination: attic).  The end result will hopefully be a nice, functioning, welcoming guest bedroom. That requires some extra work, like painting. The room currently is pink and blue/green. Not good colors for a guest bedroom. Also, the carpet is covered in makeup and stains from my adventurous younger days. However, this requires a lot of work.

This Christmas, I asked for a Kindle. In addition to using it for playing games and watching Netflix, I can use it to order digital copies of my textbooks so it’s much lighter to go to class. I can just chuck it into my bag and have a way to take notes and a textbook all in one! Unfortunately, I think I was given the smaller version with less storage, but we’ll see what technology magic I can work to make it the most useful. I’m really grateful, as this was gifted by my aunt, younger brother, and my dad’s best friend!

It’s time to order more textbooks, and gather up some spring clothing to take back to school with me. Scranton is rather chilly, though, so there will be coat and glove weather for a while to come.

About Lisa Wilson

21 year old social worker, pursuing her MSW and trying to live every day to the fullest. Never seen without iced coffee or her planner!

Posted on December 29, 2013, in College and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

