Graduation Feels

I graduate high school in 11 days. For me, this is a really easy and difficult thing to grasp at the same time. It’s easy because no one wants to deal with administrative bullshit any more than they absolutely have to, and that is the reality of high school, after all. It’s difficult because college is an entirely different world – one that I know next to nothing about. I know the ins and outs of high school. I know how to not get in trouble for something, how to get away with not doing anything, and how to get in with the teachers so they are on your side when things don’t go your way. Now that I’m starting in a completely different place, I’m scared. I know I’ll actually have to do work, but I also feel that it’s not as bad as everyone says it is or no one would really go, right? I don’t know, I could be completely wrong about that. The kids from my home district graduated last night, and there were lots of teary-eyed facebook statuses and tweets along with pictures that looked like they could have been in a magazine called “How To Have The Perfect Life”.

Right now, as I’m writing this, I’m eating pasta at home. I should be in fifth period, but I have an earache and don’t feel like going in to school right now. So I’m not. I feel like this is something that can’t happen in college. Well, we shall see, won’t we?

About Lisa Wilson

21 year old social worker, pursuing her MSW and trying to live every day to the fullest. Never seen without iced coffee or her planner!

Posted on June 6, 2013, in Pre-College, Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

